top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNneka Uchea Smith

I got myself a new set of wheels

Updated: Sep 7, 2023

So I decided that if I was not allowed to walk without crutches for 6 weeks, I'd be a "gansta-

BHF special edition ; )

granny" and tear up the streets with a new set of wheels hahaha. Hired from the British Heart Foundation, I got myself a self-propelling chair.


Here are some snippets from my first journey out! (It was roasting!)



By the way, I didn't make it all the way to the bus stop as Gog arrived before I got there (well, that was the excuse anyway!)

1.2 miles was an ambitious first journey especially as it was still pretty humid on Friday. Made it 0.6 miles before seeing Gog in the distance and waiting for her while I took the second video.



Lessons learnt (and will probably be ignored);

- I still need to learn how to pace hahahaha

- Pushing a wheelchair is particularly difficult if there is adverse camber on the pavement. Nearly ended up in the road twice

- Pavement is not set up for accessibility needs especially in the more rural areas

- Humidity + pushing a chair outside for the first time + 2 days post operation = not an ideal starting point.

- I'm still ambitious :D

- I understand why so many people have motorised aids!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page