top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNneka Uchea Smith

Recovery Update

Updated: Sep 7, 2023

I've been asked by many to update them on my recovery so far...


Hip - Since my decompression surgery in June 2019, I have been slowly building up the strength in my right leg after being non-weightbearing for 3 months. Taking those first steps was strange but liberating.


Since then I have had MRI scans, physiotherapy, and clinic appointments. So far, there has been no further damage to the hip. The area of dead bone due to lack of blood flow, (avascular necrosis (AVN)), has not changed, the shape of my head of femur (the ball of the ball and socket joint in your hip) has stayed round and not become oval which is great. This is because AVN can cause the bone to change shape (which is partly responsible for the joint stiffness that people often experience) and therefore become weakened and susceptible to fractures and the need for a hip replacement.


I've been allowed to start using my step machine but I am still not allowed to jump or run yet (trampolining with the mini me in the garden doesn't count right?). This is difficult especially in lockdown and while shielding as I am wanting to increase my physical activity to work towards running etc but I need to be patient and try to continue to go for walks and keep stretching and strengthening my leg.

I still have a numb patch on my thigh where the muscle was moved at the incision site but this is returning and feels so odd when you massage it. The scar has settled really well and makes my lion tattoo look like the lion is crying which is quite sweet actually (not the intended look but I make it work nonetheless!)






Back - my back went again in December 2019 and I had to have a month off work because the sciatica caused was so bad, in addition to pain it caused numbness and weakness in my left leg. After further MRI scans, it showed that my disc protrusion was very similar to how it was when it went in December 2018. This means that despite the nerve root injection and periods of being pain free, the disc did not reabsorb which it often can. I have spoken to my neurosurgeon and it has been suggested that I consider surgery to improve my symptoms and reduce the chances of continual relapses. Once Corona pandemic is manageable, I will be added to the waiting list.

Discectomy surgery - is carried out to release the pressure on the spinal nerves caused by a bulging or slipped disc. The prolapsed or bulging disc is removed just enough to prevent pressure on the nerves. Most of the disc is left behind to keep working as a shock absorber.

Like all surgeries, there are risks these include: infection, injury to nearby nerves, only temporary relief and the need for another surgery.


I'm in two minds about surgery:

1. because of the time off from work of which I have had a crazy amount and I really want to complete my preceptorship and get cracking with my career.

2. because all surgeries carry risk, but with my chronic conditions, especially the fibro, I am worried about the surgery causing chronic nerve pain (neuropathy) which despite the protruded disc being removed, the nerves can still think they are being aggravated and become hypersensitive.

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page