top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNneka Uchea Smith

Trying to embrace and prioritise self-care: a weekend journey

This bank holiday weekend, I made a conscious decision to prioritise myself after a prolonged period of tending to the needs of others. I felt that it was time to reclaim my space, wellbeing, and to find balance, take time to breathe, and purposefully choosing not to rush around.


I've reimagined my workspace, moving it to the dining room for a more peaceful environment away from my bedroom. With the addition of a second monitor and a docking port, I'm hoping to enhance both my productivity and comfort.


In my room, I've now created a sanctuary, centred around a chaise; a place to relax, read, and unwind. It's a small change, but it symbolises a larger commitment to leave space for me.


This short journey isn't selfish; it's necessary. I often struggle with feeling selfish or burdensome especially around doing things for myself. So by honouring my own needs, I'm hopefully laying down some additional foundations for a more balanced and fulfilling personal life.


As the weekend unfolds, I'm embracing this opportunity to prioritise myself, to enjoy moments of tranquility and inner peace (areas I am trying to develop and build as these are not my natural go to methods as an extrovert who recharges in the company of others etc). It's a journey worth taking, and one that I'm determined to continue long after the holiday period ends.


Next steps - replacing decades old furniture which I've fixed multiple times etc

PS - Moving furniture solo is one hell of a mission!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page