top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNneka Uchea Smith

Wading through the unknown

Updated: Sep 7, 2023

Like many of you, I'm currently shielding (like lockdown but stricter and longer) for 12 weeks. By trade I'm an ex assistant head teacher and now a diagnostic radiographer, using x-rays to help in various procedures, many of which you may have undertaken. Radiographers can be found all around the hospital, in A&E, x-ray, dental clinics, and surgical theatres, to name a few.

Right now, radiographers are at the frontline of the fight against coronavirus, giving chest x-rays to patients who are suspected of suffering from the coronavirus, those in intensive care wards, and those who are recovering. Previously, I was helping other frontline staff at the start of the tackle against this pandemic. However, due to my chronic disorders, my risk of serious side effects from coronavirus is raised and I was told to shield and I'm now coming to the end of my second week at home.

As a people person, I find the idea of isolation daunting and difficult. It makes me anxious and worried about my mental health. I am a person who recharges by spending time in the company of good friends, having dinner, chilling out and just doing nothing or having the rare night out. So, over the last two weeks I have been trying out a few methods to keep my mental health in a good place and to allow me to feel connected to my communities.

1. Forgotten tasks

I have finally had time to complete tasks that I have wanted to do and haven’t had an opportunity to. The most satisfying so far, is the mindfulness colouring-in book I bought for myself three years ago (I’m terrible at taking time for myself, as a working mother of a six-year-old). I have found it incredibly cathartic and it has helped me focus on the present. I have used it to take a little bit of time out each day for myself to keep good mental health practices going. Puzzles, painting and drawing are things I used to do a lot to relax and reconnect, but these were some of the first tasks that were side-lined when I had my son, started new jobs and went back to studying. I have also picked these up again.

(Oh and the fro is out! Need to sort out a delivery of extensions and teach myself how to cornrow etc with extensions...)



2. Self-care.

I have also signed up for an online self-care sharing group where we share an emotion that has been particularly challenging for us that week and how we coped and then we have 30 minutes of guided meditation. I found this incredibly useful. Usually I struggle with meditation/mindfulness activities, but this was so relaxing and engaging. We each had an opportunity to share and support each other and just talk about things that many of us have not been able to share with anyone. I have already signed up for next week’s session.

3. Social platforms.

I have attended online dinners, brunches, birthdays and video calls with my nearest and dearest, so it feels like we still have our regular catch up time. This has been great as I get to see people and not just read messages all day. You get to see the facial expressions your loved ones pull that make you laugh uncontrollably (usually at the most inappropriate of times).

4. Exercise.

I used to be incredibly active and was a regional netball player until I needed hip surgery last June. So, I find exercising difficult, especially as I am not allowed to run or jump (the home trampoline does not count right?). Still, I can be more active than I have been in previous months. Usually I would be walking around the hospital, lifting and manoeuvring equipment and patients in addition to heading back to the gym, but neither is possible right now. Instead, I have been using my aerobic stepper and attempting some online yoga/work out videos. I still haven’t found the best activity for me yet, but I am not giving up! Even when I was not allowed to walk (post operation), exercise was still incredibly important and was a guaranteed way to boost my mood.

5. Daily walks.

I have not been out apart from my garden much the last few weeks, but I am going to go on two or three walks a week around my village. I need to reconnect with nature and the outside world. When I have gone for walks, I have gone during quieter times in the day and seeing other people’s faces and smiling from a distance and saying hi has been amazingly uplifting. I took walking around for granted and really need to start engaging with it more.

6. Cooking and baking.

I love food and like the hordes on social media, I have made banana bread! I have baked other things, rhubarb and apple crumble, apple and sultana cake. I have had more times to cook the recipes that at the end of a long day of work you tend not to make and so stay at the bottom of your go to list. I have been batch cooking, finding new ways to store fruit and veg to make them last, (food waste is the last thing we should have at a time like this). I used to love cooking/baking and having dinner parties but in recent times, cooking for one adult and a child means I have not had to joy of cooking more adventurous and fun recipes. Over the next few weeks, we are going to make and decorate biscuits, bake more banana bread and more adventurous dinners.

It is a hard time for everyone right now so I think, more than ever, it is a good time to take a step back and work on ways we can use good mental health strategies and techniques in order to keep us positive and ready for the return to life outside…

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page