top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNneka Uchea Smith

An End of the Year Thank You

It isn't unknown that I've had an unfortunate/difficult and sad last 6 months or so... My community have kept me afloat, and I'm so bloody grateful. From coffee walks, scrumptious food, cuddles, space to process, lifts, chats and support.


I've always tried to impart on others that learning is lifelong and even someone like myself who has spent my life teaching in one way or another, doesn't know everything! And as I reach 40 (an age that was unimaginable for someone like me when I was born, times have changed obviously!) I want to continue learning and finding out more, about myself, others and I want to do so for a very long time!


Thank you to so many of you that keep me on the roller coaster that is my life and stop me when I think I'm ready to quit and give up because you all see in me what I can't see in myself, you see beauty, strength, resilience, passion, kindness and much more. Where I often see broken, outsider, unlovable...


We get one life and despite the challenges, the highs, lows and the painful moments, I want to make the most of the short time I have on this earth in the most devilishly positive, uplifting and impactful way possible.


Looking forward to 2024 - It is probably going to be a hard one but:

  • Jan 2024 - I start my Elizabeth Garrett Anderson MSc in Healthcare Leadership apprenticeship which will give me my Masters and the NHS Leadership Academy's Leadership award.

  • More advocacy work

  • Continuing the Society of Radiography's leadership mentoring scheme - This scheme is only offered to ten people each year and is a fantastic opportunity to be mentored by a lead radiographer. I'm hoping to use this opportunity to get support with setting clear goals and a vision for the non-medical workforce, developing professional leadership, empowering and championing others and promoting the service, colleagues and the wider radiography profession.

  • More conferences



48 views0 comments
bottom of page